One night when I was busy making dinner, my kids insisted I come take pictures of this beautiful sunset. After they had raved awhile and tugged me over to the window I snapped this without removing the window screen, then realizing it really was quite a pretty sunset I took several others from the front porch and an upstairs window. This is the only one that turned out well, so I am glad the kids got my attention when they did.

It was not until I was editing this later that I realized I had actually captured a picture of the earth’s shadow. There is a pretty cool group on Redbubble.com all about atmospheric optics If you are interested in learning more about it as well as seeing some pretty awesome photographs.

Columbia River sunset by Dawna Morton
Columbia River sunset by Dawna Mortonsee it framed

The earth’s shadow is cast across a beautiful blue and pink sunset above Rainier, Longview, and Kelso. Almost unseen in the purple twilight the Colombia River flows past the lights along the waterfront of Longview, Washington. A barge full of cargo travels silently towards the Pacific Ocean as the cross hatch pattern of a window screen creates the effect like a scene reflected on the windows of a sky scraper.

Archival inks and papers,  custom framing available on imagekind
cards starting at US $4.43,  Fine Art Prints from $10.44 and up.  Prices subject to change.
Sunrise Over the Columbia River #21 on RedBubble;
cards starting at US $1.92, matted prints US$28.50, prices subject to change.
Sunrise Over the Columbia River #21 by dlmtleArt on zazzle.com
Columbia river Posters starting at $9.95, prices subject to change
Browse other Sunset Posters
Images and content on this blog are the intellectual property of  Dawna Morton.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not copy.
Dawna’s Buy               my art Gallery of Greeting Cards, Matted Prints, and T-shirts at RedBubble Buy               art

Dawna’s Fine Art Prints at imagekind.com

Dawna’s Zazzle Gallery of items featuring her Art and Photography

Dawna’s art on FineArtAmerica

Dawna’s art on Amazon

Visit Dawna’s fan page and become a fan on facebook!

see Dawna’s art & photography with the poetry of Glennis Roper
http://PoemsProseAndArtistry.imagekind.com/
http://www.zazzle.com/poemsproseartistry*
http://www.redbubble.com/people/poemsproseart

Buy my t-shirts

 

You can also find Dawna on flickr

 

