Stargazer Lily in Pastel by Dawna Morton

Stargazer Lily in Pastel by Dawna Morton

Oil pastel on paper, 9 X 12″, by Dawna Morton, 2009.
Done entirely from memory without referencing a photo, this oil pastel drawing of a pink and white speckled stargazer lily on a brown background was completed in about an hour. the diagonal flow of this dynamic flower creates a vibrant energy.
I have been trying over the course of the past couple years to rely less on working directly from photographs in my artwork. Working directly from a photo help with the details, but sometimes that stifles my creativity and takes some of the fun out of it. I have only worked with oil pastel a small handful of times, but I did really enjoy the process of drawing,  filling in color and then smudging it with my fingers. Working entirely from memory is a bit tricky as far as remembering finer details–such as the three small yellow triangle-shaped petal that should have been in the center of the flower surrounding the pistol and stamen of the lily. The process took me about an hour in all, and I enjoyed both the process and the results.

Tags: , , ,

Stargazer Lily in Pastel also for sale as a poster on Zazzle

Images and content on this blog are the intellectual property of  Dawna Morton.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not copy.
Dawna’s Buy               my art Gallery of Greeting Cards, Matted Prints, and T-shirts at RedBubble Buy               art

Dawna’s Fine Art Prints at imagekind.com

Dawna’s Zazzle Gallery of items featuring her Art and Photography

Dawna’s art on FineArtAmerica

Dawna’s art on Amazon

Visit Dawna’s fan page and become a fan on facebook!

see Dawna’s art & photography with the poetry of Glennis Roper
http://PoemsProseAndArtistry.imagekind.com/
http://www.zazzle.com/poemsproseartistry*
http://www.redbubble.com/people/poemsproseart

Buy my t-shirts

 

You can also find Dawna on flickr

 

